The Department of Microbiology, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife at inception was carved out of the former Biological Sciences with about 100 undergraduate students and a core teaching staff of 3. The Department now accommodates 1098 undergraduate students, 64 postgraduate students and a teaching staff of 19. It is also involved in some service courses available to other students from cognate Departments and Faculties. The Department has a long tradition spanning over thirty years of academic excellence with a reputation for high quality learning experience in a conducive environment. In addition, the Department is committed to motivating students to achieve their goals through formal and informal but well-structured platforms including provisions for counseling in career and entrepreneurial orientation for application of knowledge and economic principles. Moreover, the Department is unique in lecturer-student relationship for qualitative and functional turnout of graduates in the discipline. In the high sense of our service in the turnout of functional graduates, the Department has trained students who have been offered appointments in teaching, research and other areas requiring human resource both within the Department, the university, and beyond including the Diaspora. Furthermore, about 80% of the teaching staff is composed of alumni who make sure that standards are maintained through dedication, counseling, motivation and understanding.

The restructuring of the curriculum is carried out periodically (last exercise was conducted in 2007) in consonance with the guidelines set by the Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC). This is to expand the scope and depth of some of the modules and introduce courses to address new trends and development on the importance and application of microbes in life science. This is to offer excellence in teaching and research, and make our graduates competitive with their counterparts around the world.


Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Degree in Microbiology


The Bachelor of Science Degree programme is designed to produce well trained professionals of Microbiology for Nigeria’s industries and higher institutions and mankind. This is expected to satisfy the manpower needs of schools, institutions of higher learning, research institutes, agricultural establishments, industries and hospitals.


  1. 1. To give a basic knowledge on the fundamentals of Bacteriology, Mycology, Virology and Algology, and their relationships to other disciplines.
  2. 2. To encourage independence and confidence so that the students can make informed and meaningful contributions in whatever professional activity they may be engaged in, as well as capable of identifying and appraising problems including management of human and material resources.
  3. 3. To offer and to combine theoretical principles with a realistic approach to the problems and needs of a developing country such as Nigeria.
  4. 4. To enable promising graduates to undertake postgraduate work in Microbiology and related discipline in pure and applied sciences.


The University began operation at the former campus of the Nigerian College of Arts, Science and Technology, Ibadan, in October 1962 with five Faculties, namely, Agriculture, Arts, Economics and Social Science (Now Social Sciences), Law and Science. The Departments of Botany and Zoology that made up the Biological Sciences section of the Faculty of Science moved (along with the Faculty of Agriculture) to Ile-Ife in January 1968. These two Departments were later merged and expanded to make the Department of Biological Sciences with programmes in Botany, Biochemistry, Zoology and Microbiology.

They were all housed in the Agriculture buildings until the Biological Sciences buildings were completed at the beginning of the 1974/75 session. The different programmes were upgraded into full-fledged Departments as they moved into the new buildings in 1975 and they have remained so till today. Thus the Department of Microbiology, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife came into being, and has graduated a large number of students at the B.Sc, M.Sc and Ph.D levels since then.

Of the present members of academic staff fifteen were trained within the Department, three of them are Professors, several are Associate Professors, Senior Lecturers, Lecturer Grade I & II and Assistant Lecturers as a result of deliberate staff training/development and mentorship policy of the Department. Many others have become Professors in other institutions both within and outside the Country.

This Department carries out periodic reviews of its curriculum (attached) in consonance with the guidelines set by the NUC and in response to the needs of the nation and outside world in the 21st century so that our graduates will be easily employable as well as being able to employ themselves.